Graphic of an abstract orange visualization of clouds and shapes in space.
Main Content

太空天气

"太阳辐射风暴"一词是指太阳和太空中的变化状况,这些状况会对我们在地球上使用的技术造成性能上的影响。

极端的太阳辐射风暴会对重要基础设施,尤其是电网构成潜在危害,因此做好准备就显得尤为重要。

了解太空天气

太空里的太阳耀斑为保护那些可能因为太空天气影响而处于危险境地的人员和系统,我们需要明白形成太空天气的原因。

太阳是形成太空天气的主要源头。 太阳大气层等离子体和磁场结构的突然爆发,也称日冕物质抛射 (CME) 和辐射的突然骤增或耀斑,在这里一起形成了影响地球的太空天气。 太空天气能产生诱发电线电流激增的电磁场,切断电线,甚至引发大面积电力中断。

严重的太空天气还会产生太阳高能粒子,损坏用于商业通信的卫星、全球定位系统、情报收集和天气预报。

记录在案的最强地磁风暴是发生在 1859 年八九月间根据英国天文学家理查德卡灵顿 (Richard Carrington) 的名字命名的卡灵顿事件 (Carrington Event) 。 事件发生时,电流导致电报线带电,击中技术人员、电报纸着火;远在南部的古巴和夏威夷都能看到北极光(从太阳进入地球大气层的带电粒子)。

一次严重的太空天气发生在 1989 年 3月 13 日;这次威力巨大的地磁风暴给加拿大造成一次严重的停电事件,六百万人电力中断 9 个小时。 按照北美电力可靠性公司 (NERC) 的说法,耀斑中断了来自魁北克电力公司 (Hydro Québec) 电站的电力传输,甚至融化了新泽西的部分变压器。不过, NASA称,1989 年的太空天气和卡灵顿事件的规模相比还是相去甚远。

预测太空天气

在美国,太空天气预测服务主要由 NOAA 的太空天气预测中心 (SWPC) 美国空军气象局 (AFWA)提供。这两个机构紧密合作一起满足民众和军事用户群体的需要。 SWPC 吸收了多种基于太空和地面的数据源,为普通用户和商业用户提供预报、警戒、警报、警示和综述以及军用太空天气产品。

发生前

太空天气发生前

太空天气会影响我们先进的技术,由此直接影响我们的日常生活。 主要让人担心的领域很可能是国家电网。 北部领土比南部领土更脆弱,更容易受到这些影响。总体上看,太空天气造成的电力中断是很少见的,但有证据表明重大影响是会发生的。这些电力中断可能会有级联效应,造成:

  • 配水系统和废水配水系统的损失
  • 易变质食品和药品的损失
  • 供暖/空调和电力照明系统的损失
  • 计算机系统、电话系统和通信系统(包括航班卫星网络和 GPS 服务的中断)的损失
  • 公共交通系统的损失
  • 燃料配给系统和燃气管道的损失
  • 所有无备用电源电气系统的损失

着手准备时,你应该 配置应急工具箱 并制定 家庭联络计划。 你可以采取的其它措施包括:

  • 在塑料容器中装满水放到冰箱里,如果有空间,放到冷冻室。 每个容器彼此间隔约一英寸,因为水冻起来时会膨胀。 这些冰水或冰可以在停电期间让食品保持在冰冷状态。
  • 要注意大部分要求冷藏的药品可以毫无问题地在紧闭的冰箱里存放好几个小时。 如果不确定,找医生或药剂师确认。
  • 车的油箱至少要保持在半满状态,因为加油站要依靠电力驱动加油泵。
  • 要清楚电动车库门开启器手动脱扣杆所在的位置以及如何操作。 车库门都很重,所以要清楚你可能需要别人帮助来拉起它。
  • 如果你一般都是通过车库进入家门,请保留一把房屋钥匙,以免车库门打不开。
  • 把手机的备用电池保存在安全的地方或购买太阳能驱动的或手摇充电器。 这些充电器是很好的应急工具,有了它们,在停电时,你的笔记本电脑和其它小的电子产品可以持续工作。 如果你有车,购置车载手机充电器,因为如果家里停电你便可以在车上充电。
  • 如果你有传统的(非宽带或 VOIP)座机,至少要在家里备有一个无声听筒,因为即使停电,这个听筒也会起作用。
  • 准备一张家人联系方式表。 包括至少一个紧急情况时方便家里人到达的城外联络点。
  • 对重要电子数据和信息进行备份,如有可能,自动备份,或每周备份一次。
太空天气等级

太空天气等级报告了三个类别的太阳效应。 这些等级告知当前和未来太空天气条件,以及它们可能会给人类和技术系统带来的影响。 与萨菲尔辛普森飓风等级相似,NOAA 的太空天气等级将太空天气事件和它们可能对技术系统造成的影响联系在一起。 如下表所示,该等级描述了三种事件类型对周边环境的干扰: 地磁风暴(G 级)、太阳辐射风暴(S 级)和无线电通信中断(R级)。 与飓风、龙卷风以及地震等级相似,该等级用数字传达严重程度。

太空天气描述次要 -- 极端
地磁风暴: 太阳风爆发吹到地球附近造成的地磁场骚动。G1G2G3G4G5
太阳辐射风暴: 高能粒子数量增加,令辐射水平上升。S1S2S3S4S5
无线电通信中断: 太阳放射 X 射线对地球的电离层造成干扰。R1R2R3R4R5

 

注意:大部分的"5"级事件都不会对电网造成灾难性破坏。平均而言,在每个为期 11 年的太阳周期,影响地球的这类风暴大概会有四次,以至于在卡灵顿风暴 (Carrington Storm) 之后,很多大的风暴都没造成特别重大的影响。

要了解更多信息,请访问 NOAA 太空天气等级网站 。

了解术语

使用警戒 对地磁活动进行长时间提前预测。

根据预测, 太空天气即将到来时,使用 警告提升公众的警惕程度。

警报是指对观察到的情况已发出过警告,但开始逾越界限或太空天气事件已经开始了。

太空天气警报

你可以在 NOAA/太空天气预测中心 网站找到有关太空天气的警报或 注册电子邮件地址 ,在信息发布数秒内,通过电邮接收警报、警告、警戒、预报以及概要。

发生时

  • 采取节能措施,尽量减少用电,帮助避免电力公司在电网协调期间轮流停电。
  • 谨慎听从应急警示系统 (EAS) 的指示。
  • 如果当地官员要求你拔掉家用电器的插头,照做。
  • 除非绝对必要,否则不要打电话,在紧急情况下,保持急救人员电话线路的畅通有助于他们做出响应。

发生后

扔掉不安全的食品:

  • 扔掉在 40 华氏度/4 摄氏度或更高温度下放置超过两个小时或更长时间的食品,或者气味、颜色或质地异常的食品。 如果有所怀疑,直接丢弃。
  • 不要通过品尝或依赖于品相或气味来决定食品是否安全。 有些食品看起来闻起来都不错,但是如果在室温下放置时间过长,引发食源性疾病的细菌将开始迅速生长。 有些类型的细菌会生成毒素,经过烹饪也无法消灭。
  • 如果冰箱里食品的温度低于 40 华氏度,并且其上有冰晶,可重新冷冻。
  • 如果不确定食品温度是不是足够低,用食品温度计测量其温度。

更多信息

相关文件

相关网站

听从当地官方安排

了解你所在 州和地方政府建立的应急预案。 在任何紧急情况下,始终听从当地应急管理官员给出的指令。

以身作则,动员他人行动起来, 承诺进行准备,并告诉其他人这意味着什么!

承诺进行准备

Space Weather

solar flare in space

Inspire others to act by being an example yourself, Pledge to Prepare & tell others about it!

Pledge to Prepare

The term “space weather” refers to the variable conditions on the sun and in space that can influence the performance of technology we use on Earth.

Extreme space weather could potentially cause damage to critical infrastructure – especially the electric grid – highlighting the importance of being prepared.

solar flare in spaceIn order to protect people and systems that might be at risk from space weather effects, we need to understand the causes of space weather.

The sun is the main source of space weather. Sudden bursts of plasma and magnetic field structures from the sun's atmosphere called coronal mass ejections (CME) together with sudden bursts of radiation, or solar flares, all cause space weather effects here on Earth.

Space weather can produce electromagnetic fields that induce extreme currents in wires, disrupting power lines, and even causing wide-spread blackouts. Severe space weather also produces solar energetic particles, which can damage satellites used for commercial communications, global positioning, intelligence gathering, and weather forecasting.

The strongest geomagnetic storm on record is the Carrington Event of August-September 1859, named after the British astronomer Richard Carrington. During this event currents electrified telegraph lines, shocking technicians and setting their telegraph papers on fire; and Northern Lights (electrically charged particles from the sun that enter Earth's atmosphere) were visible as far south as Cuba and Hawaii.

Another significant space weather event took place on March 13,1989; a powerful geomagnetic storm set off a major power blackout in Canada that left six million people without electricity for nine hours. According to the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC), the flare disrupted electric power transmission from the Hydro Québec generating station and even melted some power transformers in New Jersey. NASA stated, however, that this 1989 space weather event was nowhere near the same scale as the Carrington event.

Predicting Space Weather

Space weather prediction services in the United States are provided primarily by NOAA's Space Weather Prediction Center (SWPC) and the U.S. Air Force's (USAF) Weather Agency (AFWA), which work closely together to address the needs of their civilian and military user communities. The SWPC draws on a variety of data sources, both space and ground-based, to provide forecasts, watches, warnings, alerts, and summaries as well as operational space weather products to civilian and commercial users.

Before Space Weather Occurs

Space weather can have an impact on our advanced technologies which has a direct impact on our daily lives. The main area of concern will most likely be our nation's electric power grid. Northern territories are more vulnerable to these effects than areas farther south.  Generally, power outages due to space weather are very rare events, but evidence suggests that significant effects could occur.  These power outages may have cascading effects, causing:

  • Loss of water and wastewater distribution systems
  • Loss of perishable foods and medications
  • Loss of heating/air conditioning and electrical lighting systems
  • Loss of computer systems, telephone systems, and communications systems (including disruptions in airline flights, satellite networks and GPS services)
  • Loss of public transportation systems
  • Loss of fuel distribution systems and fuel pipelines
  • Loss of all electrical systems that do not have back-up power

To begin preparing, you should build an emergency kit and make a family communications plan. Other steps you can take include:

  • Fill plastic containers with water and place them in the refrigerator and freezer if there's room. Leave about an inch of space inside each one, because water expands as it freezes. This chilled or frozen water will help keep food cold during a temporary power outage.
  • Be aware that most medication that requires refrigeration can be kept in a closed refrigerator for several hours without a problem. If unsure, check with your physician or pharmacist.
  • Keep your car tank at least half full because gas stations rely on electricity to power their pumps.
  • Know where the manual release lever of your electric garage door opener is located and how to operate it. Garage doors can be heavy, so know that you may need help to lift it.
  • Keep a key to your house with you if you regularly use the garage as the primary means of entering your home, in case the garage door will not open.
  • Keep extra batteries for your phone in a safe place or purchase a solar-powered or hand crank charger. These chargers are good emergency tools to keep your laptop and other small electronics working in the event of a power outage. If you own a car, purchase a car phone charger because you can charge your phone if you lose power at your home.
  • If you have a traditional landline (non-broadband or VOIP) phone, keep at least one non-cordless receiver in your home because it will work even if you lose power.
  • Prepare a family contact sheet. This should include at least one out-of-town contact that may be better able to reach family members in an emergency.
  • Make back-up copies of important digital data and information, automatically if possible, or at least weekly.
Space Weather Scales

The NOAA Space Weather Scales report three categories of solar effects. These scales communicate current and future space weather conditions, and their possible effects on people and systems. Similar to the Saffir-Simpson Hurricane Wind Scale, the NOAA space weather scales correlate space weather events with their likely effects on technological systems. As shown in the table below, the scales describe the environmental disturbances for three event types: Geomagnetic Storms (G-scale), Solar Radiation Storms (S-scale), and Radio Blackouts (R-scale). The scales have numbered levels, analogous to hurricanes, tornadoes, and earthquakes that convey severity.

Description of Space Weather Scale Minor  --  Extreme
Geomagnetic Storms: disturbances in the geomagnetic field caused by gusts in the solar wind that blows by Earth. G1 G2 G3 G4 G5
Solar Radiation Storms: elevated levels of radiation that occur when the numbers of energetic particles increase. S1 S2 S3 S4 S5
Radio Blackouts: disturbances of the ionosphere caused by X-ray emissions from the Sun. R1 R2 R3 R4 R5

 

NOTE: The vast majority of "5" level events will not cause catastrophic damages to the electric grid.  On average, the Earth is impacted by such storms about four times during every 11-year solar cycle, so many large storms have impacted the planet since the Carrington Storm with much less signification impact.

For more information visit NOAA Space Weather Scales.

Know the Terms

Watches are used for making long-lead predictions of geomagnetic activity.

Warnings are used to raise the public's level of alertness based on an expectation that a space weather event is imminent.

Alerts indicate that the observed conditions, highlighted by the warnings, have crossed a preset threshold or that a space weather event has already started.

Space Weather Alerts

You can find alerts about space weather at the NOAA/Space Weather Prediction Center or register your email address to receive alerts, warnings, watches, forecasts, and summaries via email within moments of issue.

  • Follow energy conservation measures to keep the use of electricity as low as possible, which can help power companies avoid imposing rolling blackouts during periods when the power grid is compromised.
  • Follow the Emergency Alert System (EAS) instructions carefully.
  • Disconnect electrical appliances if instructed to do so by local officials.
  • Do not use the telephone unless absolutely necessary, during emergency situations keeping lines open for emergency personnel can improve response.

Throw out unsafe food:

  • Throw away any food that has been exposed to a temperature of 40° F (4° C) or higher for 2 hours or more or that has an unusual odor, color, or texture. When in doubt, throw it out!
  • Never taste food or rely on appearance or odor to determine its safety. Some foods may look and smell fine, but if they have been at room temperature too long, bacteria causing food-borne illnesses can start growing quickly. Some types of bacteria produce toxins that cannot be destroyed by cooking.
  • If food in the freezer is colder than 40° F and has ice crystals on it, you can refreeze it.
  • If you are not sure food is cold enough, take its temperature with a food thermometer.

Publications

Related Websites

Listen to Local Officials

Learn about the emergency plans that have been established in your area by your state and local government. In any emergency, always listen to the instructions given by local emergency management officials.

Last updated: 05/20/2014 - 01:22 PM