Photo of a turned off light post at night.
Main Content

断电事故

 

美国历史上最大范围的一次停电发生在2003 年 8 月 14 日,大约五千万人因此无电可用。 任何地方都可能会停电,任何人都可能面对停电,所以做好准备很重要。

发生前

停电前

要做好停电准备,应采取下面的措施:

  • 着手准备时,你应该 配置应急工具箱 并制定 家庭联络计划
  • 采取节能措施,尽量少用电,帮助避免电力公司轮流停电。
  • 在塑料容器中装满水放到冰箱里,如果有空间,放到冷冻室。 每个容器彼此间隔约一英寸,因为水冻起来时会膨胀。 冰水或冰可以在临时停电期间会通过置换冰箱内能够迅速升温的空气让食物保持冰冷状态,这种状态可以持续几个小时而无须另外冷藏。
  • 要注意大部分要求冷藏的药品可以毫无问题地在紧闭的冰箱里存放好几个小时。如果不确定,找医生或药剂师确认。
  • 车的油箱至少要保持在半满状态,因为加油站要依靠电力驱动加油泵。
  • 要清楚电动车库门开启器手动脱扣杆所在的位置以及如何操作。 车库门都很重,所以要清楚你可能需要别人帮助来拉起它。
  • 如果你一般都是通过车库进入家门,请保留一把房屋钥匙,以免车库门打不开。
残障人士和其他有通道和功能需求的人
  • 如果你使用电池供电的轮椅、生命维持系统或其他依赖电力的设备,在轮流停电之前请拨打电话联系电力公司。 为避免紧急情况发生,很多电力公司都存有电力依赖客户的名单和所在地的地图。 询问电力公司你所在的地区有无别的替代选择。 联系本地电力公司的客服部门了解你所在的社区有无这种服务。
  • 如果你使用的是动力轮椅或电动车,请配备备用电池。 车用电池也能用在轮椅上,不过使用时间不像轮椅专用的深循环电池那么长。 如果可以,购买一轻便手动的轮椅备用。
  • 如果你是盲人或有视觉障碍的人,请装备带备用电池的语音或盲文时钟或大字体时钟。
  • 如果你耳聋或失聪,考虑装备一台小巧、便携、电池供电的电视机。 紧急播报会用美国手语(American Sign Language, ASL) 提供信息或给出字幕。

发生时

停电时

  • 只用手电筒紧急照明。 由于很可能引发火灾,所以在电力中断或停电时绝对不要使用蜡烛。
  • 冰箱和冰柜门保持关闭以尽可能保鲜食品。 如果你必须食用放在冰箱里或冷冻的食品,仔细检查有无酸败迹象。
  • 电力中断时,关掉电器、设备(比如空调)或电子产品,或拔下相应插头。 来电时可能会有瞬间的“电涌”或“峰值”,这可以损坏电脑及空调、冰箱、洗衣机或电炉之类的家用电器的电机。
  • 不要在家里或车库用发电机。
  • 不要把发电机连接到家里的电气系统上。如果你用发电机,把你想要驱动的设备直接连到发电机的输出端。
  • 收听当地广播和电池或发电机驱动的电视机,了解最新消息。
  • 开着一盏灯,这样你会知道何时供电。
  • 如果你的电话需要用电(像无绳电话和应答机),请用标准座机、手机、无线电或寻呼机。 仅在遇到紧急情况时使用电话。 收听便携式收音机了解最新消息。
  • 不要拨打9-1-1 来了解信息,这个电话只用来报告有生命危险的紧急状况。 仅在遇到有生命危险的紧急状况时使用电话。
  • 如果外面温度很高,设法保持冷静。 如果停电时间过长而很热的话,考虑去电影院、购物中心或可能会在你所在小区开放的“凉棚”。 如果你坚持待在家里,转移到家中地势最低的位置,因为冷空气是下沉的。 穿着的衣服要轻便、色浅。 即便你不觉得口渴,也要大量饮水。
  • 如果外面冷,多穿几层衣服。 绝对不要在室内烧木炭取暖或做饭。 不要把烤箱当热源来用。 如果停电时间延长,要做去其他供暖保温的地方(亲戚朋友家或公共场所)的打算。
  • 为宠物准备大量干净的凉水。
  • 取消没必要的旅行,尤其是开车旅行。 停电时交通信号灯也会停止工作,从而造成交通堵塞。
  • 切记:自动取款机(ATM) 这类设备和电梯在停电期间很可能无法使用。
使用发电机
  • 如果你在考虑添置发电机,请咨询持证专业人员(如电工)的意见。 确保该款发电机在美国保险商实验室公司(UL) 或类似机构榜上有名。 部分市政当局、空气质量管理区或州政府有“空气质量许可”要求。 关于这类事情的更多信息,持证电工能够为你提供。
  • 要做发电机始终安置在室外的规划,绝对不要在室内用,包括地下室或车库。 不要把发电机直接连在家里的布线网络上。 最安全的做法是把你想要驱动的设备直接连到发电机的输出端。

发生后

停电后

扔掉不安全的食品:

  • 扔掉在40 华氏度/4 摄氏度或更高温度下存放超过两小时或更长时间的食品,或者气味、颜色或质地异常的食品。 如果有所怀疑,直接丢弃。
  • 不要通过品尝或依赖于品相或气味来决定食品是否安全。 有些食品看起来闻起来都不错,但是如果在室温下放置时间过长,引发食源性疾病的细菌将开始迅速生长。 有些类型的细菌会生成毒素,经过烹饪也无法消灭。
  • 如果冰箱里食品的温度低于40 华氏度,并且其上有冰晶,可重新冷冻。
  • 如果不确定食品温度是不是足够低,用食品温度计测量其温度。 扔掉任何在超过40 华氏度/4 摄氏度或更高温度下存放超过两小时或更长时间的食品(肉、家禽肉、鱼、鸡蛋和剩饭),或者气味、颜色或质地异常,或碰上去有点热的食品。

节能建议

停电后

为节省用电以避免电力中断,遵照下面这些电力行业的建议:

  • 冬天,将恒温器的温度设置在68 华氏度(20 摄氏度)或更低,夏天设置在 78 华氏度(25.6 摄氏度)或更高。 (夏天设置在 75 华氏度(即 23.9 摄氏度)消耗的电能会增加 18%。设置在 72 华氏度(即 22.2 摄氏度)消耗的电能将增加高达 39%。 设置在 78 华氏度人体会感觉足够凉快,同时还省电。) 考虑安装程控恒温器,这样你可以设置仅在家里时才开启锅炉或空调。 大部分的电力消耗在取暖或降温上,因此调节恒温器的温度是你可以采取的最大的节能措施。
  • 仅当你在家里时才开空调。 如果你想把室内的温度在回家之前就降下来,将定时器设置为不超过你到家之前半小时再开启空调。
  • 只在清晨或深夜使用那些重荷载电器(洗碗机、洗衣机、干衣机)。
  • 开启空调时,不要把恒温器的温度设置得比正常温度还低。 这不但不会迅速降温,还会造成不必要的电力消耗、产生不必要的费用。
  • 在冬季,白天时要把朝南窗户的帷帐和窗帘拉开,让温暖的阳光照射到房间里来。 晚上则拉上,减少寒气。 在夏季,白天要把窗帘拉上。
  • 定期清洁或更换锅炉或空调的滤尘网。 污脏的滤尘网会妨碍空气流通进而增加能耗。
  • 如有需要,清洁暖风调风器、踢脚板式取暖器和散热片;确保家具、地毯或窗帘没有挡住这些东西。
  • 关掉不在使用的灯、电器和电脑。 避免在电脑显示器上使用“屏保”。 暂时不用电脑时,关掉显示器即可。 将电脑、显示器、打印机和复印机设置为省电模式,晚上则全部关掉。 经常开关电脑会损坏电脑设备这种说法不再是那么回事了。
  • 取暖或制冷系统开着时,关上窗户。
  • 购买节能电器和灯具。查看ENERGY STAR® 标签。 ENERGY STAR® 是美国能源部 (DOE) 和环境保护局 (EPA) 的一项计划,旨在帮助消费者识别节能电器和产品。
  • 将“能源泄漏”降到最低。 很多电视、VCR、充电器、电脑配件和其它电器即使“关机”也依然耗电。 这些“待机损耗”会积少成多。 如果可能,在不用的时候,把那些有块状稳压器的电子设备和充电器的插头拔下来。
  • 如果从不使用壁炉,把烟囱管道堵上封好。
    仅在生火时打开壁炉的风门。 开着风门就好比在冬天开着一扇宽48 英寸的窗户,热气正好会顺着烟囱外溢。
  • 给水暖加热器套上隔热罩,这种用品在大部分建材零售店都有售。
  • 仅在洗衣机装满后再洗衣服,并且每次用完后都要清洁烘干机的绒毛过滤袋。 如果可以,用洗衣机洗衣时使用冷水洗涤这一档。 用冷水洗涤,洗衣机的能耗可以降低75%。
  • 洗碗机装满后再洗碗,且使用“简易”循环档。 如果可能,使用“仅冲洗”循环档并关掉“高温”冲洗选项。 常规清洗完成后,打开洗碗机门,让餐具自然风干。
  • 用节能荧光灯换掉白炽灯泡。
  • 用一个大功率的灯泡,而不是同时使用多个小功率灯泡。

更多信息

相关网站

请访问下列网站,找出更多关于如何筹划和防备雷雨的信息、了解现有资源:

听从当地官方安排

了解你所在 州和地方政府 建立的应急预案。 在任何紧急情况下,始终听从当地应急管理官员给出的指令。

Blackouts

Blackouts - flashlight viewed in the darkThe biggest Blackout in U.S. history occurred on August 14, 2003, leaving roughly 50 million people without power. Blackouts can happen anywhere, and to anyone, so being prepared is important.

Before

Before a Blackout

To prepare for a blackout you should do the following:

  • To begin preparing, you should build an emergency kit and make a family communications plan.
  • Follow energy conservation measures to keep the use of electricity as low as possible, which can help power companies avoid imposing rolling blackouts.
  • Fill plastic containers with water and place them in the refrigerator and freezer if there's room. Leave about an inch of space inside each one, because water expands as it freezes. This chilled or frozen water will help keep food cold during a temporary power outage, by displacing air that can warm up quickly with water or ice that keeps cold for several hours without additional refrigeration.
  • Be aware that most medication that requires refrigeration can be kept in a closed refrigerator for several hours without a problem. If unsure, check with your physician or pharmacist.
  • Keep your car tank at least half full because gas stations rely on electricity to power their pumps.
  • Know where the manual release lever of your electric garage door opener is located and how to operate it. Garage doors can be heavy, so know that you may need help to lift it.
  • Keep a key to your house with you if you regularly use the garage as the primary means of entering your home, in case the garage door will not open. 
People With Disabilities and Other Access and Functional Needs
  • Call your power company before rolling blackouts occur if you use a battery-operated wheelchair, life-support system or other power-dependent equipment. Many utility companies keep a list and map of the locations of power-dependent customers in case of an emergency. Ask them what alternatives are available in your area. Contact the customer service department of your local utility company(ies) to learn if this service is available in your community.
  • Have an extra battery if you use a motorized wheelchair or scooter. A car battery also can be used with a wheelchair but will not last as long as a wheelchair's deep-cycle battery. If available, have a lightweight manual wheelchair for backup.
  • Have a talking or Braille clock or large-print timepiece with extra batteries if you are blind or have a visual disability.
  • Consider getting a small portable battery-operated television set if you are deaf or have a hearing loss. Emergency broadcasts may give information in American Sign Language (ASL) or open captioning.

During

During a Blackout

  • Use only flashlights for emergency lighting. NEVER use candles during a blackout or power outage due to extreme risk of fire.
  • Keep refrigerator and freezer doors closed to keep your food as fresh as possible. If you must eat food that was refrigerated or frozen, check it carefully for signs of spoilage.
  • Turn off or disconnect appliances, equipment (like air conditioners) or electronics in use when the power went out. Power may return with momentary "surges” or “spikes” that can damage computers as well as motors in appliances like the air conditioner, refrigerator, washer or furnace.
  • Do not run a generator inside a home or garage.
  • Do not connect a generator to a home's electrical system.  If you use a generator, connect the equipment you want to run directly to the outlets on the generator.
  • Listen to local radio and to a battery- or generator-powered television for updated information.
  • Leave on one light so that you'll know when your power returns.
  • Use a standard telephone handset, cellular phone, radio or pager if your phone requires electricity to work, as do cordless phones and answering machines. Use the phone for emergencies only. Listen to a portable radio for the latest information.
  • Do not call 9-1-1 for information—call only to report a life-threatening emergency. Use the phone for life-threatening emergencies only.
  • Take steps to remain cool if it is hot outside. In intense heat when the power may be off for a long time, consider going to a movie theater, shopping mall or “cooling shelter” that may be open in your community. If you remain at home, move to the lowest level of your home, since cool air falls. Wear lightweight, light-colored clothing. Drink plenty of water, even if you do not feel thirsty.
  • Put on layers of warm clothing if it is cold outside. Never burn charcoal for heating or cooking indoors. Never use your oven as a source of heat. If the power may be out for a prolonged period, plan to go to another location (the home of a relative or friend, or a public facility) that has heat to keep warm.
  • Provide plenty of fresh, cool water for your pets.
  • Eliminate unnecessary travel, especially by car. Traffic signals will stop working during an outage, creating traffic congestion.
  • Remember that equipment such as automated teller machines (ATMs) and elevators may not work during a power outage. 
Using a Generator
  • Get advice from a licensed professional, such as an electrician if you are considering obtaining a generator. Make sure the generator is listed with Underwriter's Laboratories or a similar organization. Some municipalities, Air Quality Districts, or states have "air quality permit" requirements. A licensed electrician will be able to give you more information on these matters.
  • Plan to always keep the generator outdoors—never operate it inside, including in the basement or garage. Do not hook up a generator directly to your home's wiring. The safest thing to do is to connect the equipment you want to run directly to the outlets on the generator.

After

After a Blackout

Throw out unsafe food:

  • Throw away any food that has been exposed to temperatures 40° F (4° C) for 2 hours or more or that has an unusual odor, color or texture. When in doubt, throw it out!
  • Never taste food or rely on appearance or odor to determine its safety. Some foods may look and smell fine, but if they have been at room temperature too long, bacteria causing food-borne illnesses can start growing quickly. Some types of bacteria produce toxins that cannot be destroyed by cooking.
  • If food in the freezer is colder than 40° F and has ice crystals on it, you can refreeze it.
  • If you are not sure food is cold enough, take its temperature with the food thermometer. Throw out any foods (meat, poultry, fish, eggs and leftovers) that have been exposed to temperatures higher than 40° F (4° C) for 2 hours or more, and any food that has an unusual odor, color or texture, or feels warm to touch.

Energy Conservation Recommendations

To conserve power and help to avoid a blackout, follow these power industry recommendations:

  • Set your thermostat at 68 degrees or lower in winter and at 78 degrees or higher in summer. (A 75-degree setting uses 18 percent more electricity and a 72-degree setting uses 39 percent more electricity. A 78 degree setting allows for sufficient cooling while still conserving electric power.) Consider installing a programmable thermostat so that you can have your furnace or air conditioning run only when you are at home. Most power is consumed by heating and cooling, so adjusting the temperature on your thermostat is the biggest energy conservation measure you can take.
  • Use an air conditioner only when you are home. If you want to cool down a room before you arrive home, set a timer to have it switch on no more than one-half hour before you arrive home.
  • Only use appliances with heavy electrical loads (dishwashers, washers, dryers) early in the morning or late at night.
  • Do not set the thermostat at a colder-than-normal setting when you turn on your air conditioner. It won't cool your home any faster and could result in unnecessary energy expenditure and expense.
  • Open draperies and shades on south-facing windows during the day in the winter to allow warm sunlight to enter your home. Close them at night to reduce the chill. Keep window coverings closed during the day in summer.
  • Clean or replace furnace and air-conditioner filters regularly. Dirty filters restrict airflow and increase energy use.
  • Clean warm-air registers, baseboard heaters, and radiators as needed; make sure they're not blocked by furniture, carpeting, or drapes.
  • Turn off lights, appliances and computers when not in use. Avoid using a "screen saver" on your computer monitor. Simply turn off the monitor when you won't be using the computer for a while. Set computers, monitors, printers, and copiers to their energy saving feature and turn them off in the evening. It's no longer true that computer equipment is damaged by turning it off and on.
  • Close windows when the heating or cooling system is on.
  • Caulk windows and doors to keep air from leaking, and replace old windows with new, energy-efficient windows.
  • Purchase energy-efficient appliances and lights.  Look for the ENERGY STAR® labels. ENERGY STAR® is a program of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) designed to help consumers identify energy-efficient appliances and products.
  • Minimize "leaking energy." Many TVs, VCRs, chargers, computer peripherals and other appliances use electricity even when switched "off." These "standby losses" can add up. If possible, unplug electronic devices and chargers that have a block-shaped transformer on the plug when not in use.
  • Plug and seal the chimney flue if you never use your fireplace.
    Keep your fireplace damper closed unless a fire is going. Keeping the damper open is like keeping a 48-inch window open during the winter—it allows warm air to go right up the chimney.
  • Wrap the water heater with an insulation jacket, available at most building supplies retailers.
  • Wash only full loads of clothes and clean the dryer's lint trap after each use. Use the cold water setting on your clothes washer when you can. Using cold water reduces your washer's energy use by 75 percent.
  • Wash full loads of dishes in the dishwasher and use the "lite" cycle. If possible, use the "rinse only" cycle and turn off the "high temperature" rinse option. When the regular wash cycle is done, open the dishwasher door to allow the dishes to air dry.
  • Replace incandescent light bulbs with energy-efficient compact fluorescent lights.
  • Use one large light bulb rather than several smaller ones.

More Information

Related Websites

Find additional information on how to plan and prepare for a thunderstorm and learn about available resources by visiting the following websites:

Listen to Local Officials

Learn about the emergency plans that have been established in your area by your state and local government. In any emergency, always listen to the instructions given by local emergency management officials.

Last updated: 05/20/2014 - 01:32 PM